The library remains closed at this time. All library material due dates have been extended. Full details

Book Clubs

Love it or hate it, come and discuss it! Our free Book Clubs are a great way to meet other book lovers and participate in lively discussions.

Sessions are led by our own professional book lovers (OPL staff members) and all book club sessions are free and drop-in. Copies of titles will be available on a first-come, first-serve basis at the information desk at the branch that is holding your book club session.

Check out our FAQ for more information.


Adult Book Clubs

Central Branch, 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, April 7 – I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara
Tuesday, May 5 – The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal
Tuesday, June 2 – Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver

Iroquois Ridge Branch, 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 10 – The Feather Thief by Kirk Johnson
Tuesday, April 14 – Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver
Tuesday, May 12 – The Gifted School by Bruce Holsinger
Tuesday, June 9 – I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara

Glen Abbey Branch, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Wednesday, March 25 – The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose
Wednesday, April 29 – Bellevue Square by Michael Redhill
Wednesday, May 27 – These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly
Wednesday, June 24 – The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

Woodside Branch, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 19 – The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal
Thursday, April 16 – Normal People by Sally Rooney
Thursday, May 21 – The Museum of Modern Love by Heather Rose
Thursday, June 18 – The Stationery Shop by Marjan Kamali

Sixteen Mile Branch, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, March 18 – Wonder by Emma Donoghue
Wednesday, April 15 – The Stationery Shop by Marjan Kamali
Wednesday, May 20 – The Woo Woo – Lindsay Wong
Wednesday, June 17 – Normal People by Sally Rooney


Historical Fiction Book Club

Join us at Oakville Museum’s Erchless Estate in downtown Oakville to enjoy an historical book in an historical setting! Copies of titles will be available on a first-come, first-serve basis at the information desk on the Adult Floor at Central Branch. Please note that food and drink are not permitted inside Erchless Estate. Parking is available beside (north) of Erchless Estate, in addition to surrounding street parking.

Erchless Estate, 2:30pm – 3:30pm
Monday, February 10 – Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Theres Fowler
Monday, March 9 – Above All Things by Tanis Rideout 
Monday, April 6 – Mary Coin by Marisa Silver
Monday, May 11 – Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan
Monday, June 8 – Requiem by Frances Itani


*New* Teen Book Clubs

Beginning in February, Sixteen Mile Branch will also be offering a new Teen Book Club. Following the format of our Let’s Talk About Books program, reading a specific book is not required, just come prepared to discuss books within the theme! Our friendly book loving staff will help guide the discussion and provide some snacks for good measure.

Looking for suggested reading lists for the upcoming sessions? Browse our staff picks for Books into Movies, Dystopian Drama and The Struggle is Real.

Sixteen Mile Branch, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 1 – Books into Movies
Wednesday, May 6 – Dystopian Drama
Wednesday, June 3 – The Struggle is Real


Loading…